Fiction · Works in progress

written wednesday wounds

I have tasted acid. It corroded my flesh and exposed me to the world. It came in a fancy liquid which blinded me. I wouldn’t have taken it if I knew. It is not something new: displacing reality. It was not the case of mistaken identity nor the scenario of judging a book by the cover just a thoughtless decision.

The tip of my tongue moved and created a word I likely used. It came to me so fast my mind could not stop its last transmission and so it was relayed so fast. I thought wrong and said it wrong. Said it unexpectedly, painfully. Rejection came quick, rescuing me from further embarrassment. And it tasted like acid. Consuming me in front of him. My heart became ashes. That is how it felt. Loving him, him loving her, her loving another and me not loved by him.

“You don’t say ‘I love you’ anyhow to anyone anywhere. Even to crushes which literally have a part of you for years. Because they know. They might look good with their tower heights and one of a kind eyes. You don’t say it! Till they say it first or they never say it then you secretly die with such feelings or they eventually go away”, his reply.

Luckily for her it rained that fateful day. Her tears were never seen but the tears in her heart never healed…

Posted by P.A.W. from WordPress for BlackBerry.

One thought on “written wednesday wounds

Leave a Reply

