Poetry

Forgiveness

I forgive because I want to live.

I forgive because I want to give.

I forgive because life is too brief

to wallow every day in grief.

Live life that is full of promise

broken over and over again

withstanding all of the pain

yet I forgive because I want to give.

Give hope to moments  forgotten

and memories hidden

inside lusts that did not last

so not to dwell in the past

I still forgive because life is too brief.

Brief like a candle in the wind

blown away and leaving darkness

eroding innocence in the present

time, last breaths, last sounds

I forgive because there is too much grief

Grief that I have not experienced

in a huge magnitude

or climbed higher mountains to know its latitude

I have foreseen all of this

that even after it all, I will forgive cause you are already gone.

I forgive because I want to live.

I forgive because I want to give.

I forgive because life is too brief

to wallow every day in grief.

2 thoughts on “Forgiveness

Leave a Reply

