Uncategorized

The Story of Us (wedding)

I had not known of white weddings and all things that accompany it. It was just going to be a dance at night by the fire place where stories of how we met, were shared. We were to be dressed in leather and feast on a wild animal. It was not an old tradition, I felt it was appropriate given that I grew up in this place, the Kalahari, was my home, I couldn’t have it any other way. But I had to sacrifice, he made promises that I thought he would not break, besides, he was not like any other man in my tribe. He did not know how to hunt, how to dance to the ancestors for thanksgiving or even how to converse in my language. But we still communicated.

Leave a Reply

